Home Sports AB de Villiers picks MS Dhoni over Virat Kohli as captain of...

AB de Villiers picks MS Dhoni over Virat Kohli as captain of his all-time IPL XI

Former South Africa batsman and Royal Challengers Bangalore star AB de Villiers picked his all-time Indian Premier League (IPL) XI, naming Chennai Super Kings skipper MS Dhoni as its captain.

De Villiers, who plays under Virat Kohli at Royal Challengers Bangalore, also picked his skipper and himself in the XI.

After beginning his IPL career at Delhi Daredevils (now Capitals), de Villiers went on to produce one of the most admired partnerships in IPL history with Kohli at RCB. The two players have been key to RCB’s performances over the years and played a crucial role in helping the team reach the final in 2016.

De Villiers picked his former captain Virender Sehwag as the opener of his side along with Rohit Sharma, whom he described as someone who has been playing ‘the best criket in the world over the last 5 years’.

No. 3 and No. 4 spots went to the RCB duo while England all-rounder, who is all set to lead the team in Tests for the first time, was picked at No. 5.

Dhoni, who has led CSK to 3 IPL titles, comes at No. 6 in de Villiers’ all-time XI while his CSK teammate Ravindra Jadeja takes up the second all-rounder’s slot.

Rashid Khan handles the spin department along with Jadeja while Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah and Kagiso Rabada are the 3 pacers in de Villiers’ all-time XI.

“Opening the batting, someone I started with at Delhi — Viru. And then someone who I think has played the best cricket in the world over the last five years – Rohit. Virat is at No. 3. No. 4 either Williamson or Smith or myself,” AB de Villiers said during Cricbuzz in Conversation show with sports presenter Harsha Bhogle.

“Ben Stokes at No. 5. MS at No. 6 and captain, him and Virat can sort of make terms as captain. No. 7 at Jaddu. Rashid Khan at 8. Bhuvi at No. 9. Rabada at 10 and Bumrah at 11.”

AB de Villiers’ all-time IPL XI: MS Dhoni (captain), Virender Sehwag, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Ben Stokes, Ravindra Jadeja, Rashid Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kagiso Rabada, Jasprit Bumrah.

Get real-time alerts and all the news on your phone with the all-new India Today app. Download from

  • Andriod App
  • IOS App

Source link

Leave a Reply

Most Popular

World TeamTennis to kick off season with safety measures in place | Tennis News

World TeamTennis (WTT) kicks off its three-week regular season on Sunday, as the world of professional tennis moves forward in the United States...

Cristiano Ronaldo’s penalty double edges Juventus closer to title in Atalanta draw | Football News

(AFP photo)MILAN: Cristiano Ronaldo scored two penalties as Juventus snatched a dramatic 2-2 draw against Atalanta on Saturday to take a...

Ungli actress Rachel White tests positive for COVID-19

Image Source : INSTAGRAM/RACHELWHITE Ungli actress Rachel White tests positive for COVID-19 Actor Rachel White says she has tested positive for...

Sourav Ganguly confirms Australia tour but seeks shortened quarantine | Cricket News

NEW DELHI: Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) president Sourav Ganguly on Saturday said the Indian team will tour Australia in...